David McCall Foundation Announce First Beneficiary

The David McCall Cycling Foundation announced yesterday the first beneficiaries of the fund. The Cycling Ulster squad of women and Juniors who are participating in this year’s Tour ta Malta received a cheque of £500 towards their expenses. Chairman of the Foundation, Hamilton Topping, said, “We have been looking at a number of projects over the past few months. When we heard that the Maltese Federation had withdrawn their original offer of partial board and that this could mean a potential increase for the riders we decided to go with this project. For us it satisfies many of the aims of the Foundation in that we will be supporting both young, emerging talent and women in sport. We also see it as a way to say thanks to many of the clubs who have supported the Foundation. George Boyd who is managing the team is from Roe Valley, one of the very first clubs to donate to the Foundation. The riders and mangers hail from all over Ulster - Ballymena, Strabane, Bangor, Carrickfergus, Limavady and Coleraine and represent a fair spread of clubs.”

Tommy Lamb, Chairman of Cycling Ulster and a Foundation Committee member presented a cheque to Ryan Connor on behalf of the Foundation. Cycling Ulster also presented the team with special T shirts with the Foundation logo.


He said, “I am delighted to present this cheque on behalf of the Foundation. A lot of work went into organising the squad during the winter, When the funding was withdrawn we were unsure whether or not it would be a viable option. However with the support of the David McCall Foundation, SportNI and Cycling Ulster we were able to continue. This will be a valuable experience not only for our Juniors but for the women riders, some of whom are quite new to the sport. It is also allowing us to train a manager in an International Stage Race, We are delighted that Ryan Connor has offered his services and he will be a great asset to the team.”

The Malta Squad

George Boyd (Roe Valley CC) Manager
Mary Boyd (Roe Valley CC)Women's Manager
Oliver Hunter (Bann Valley) Manager
Ryan Connor (Uhser IRC) Rider/Trainee Manager

Junior Team

Stuart Henry (North Down)
Philip Bremner (Ballymena RC)
Marcus Christie (Usher IRC)
Jonny Cole (Team Madigan)

Women's Team

Ann McFarland (East Tyrone)
Kay Hack (Bann Wheelers)
Louise Fullerton (Ballymena RC)
Elle Forrest (Ballymena RC)
Hannah Francis (Ards CC)